The following is lifted almost word for word from I comment I made on Sugar Kyle’s Blog. You can locate that comment here: Constructive Use of Time

The version on Sugar’s blog was a rewrite of a comment I made on Nosy Gamer’s blog. You can locate that version here: Why I Am A Low Sec Carebear

The idea behind the Nosy comment was shamelessly filched from a comment I read on the Eve Forums sometime in the distant past. Sadly, I can’t recall where I read that version nor who wrote it so I’m unable to properly attribute origin to that author.

So, dear reader, please know that this is at least the fourth time some version of ‘So what’s a CareBear Anyway’ has been posted. As I think it’s an important concept, I suspect I’ll need to repeat it every so often. Slapping it down on my little blog provides me future easy access for just such occasions.

>>>So What’s a CearBear Anyway?<<<

Convenient epithet aside, when it comes to Eve where ship on ship PvP can descend on you at any moment, the term “CareBear” is in serious need of definitional honing. To be useful, the term “CareBear” shouldn’t refer to the activity one undertakes but rather the expectation that one can pursue that activity absolutely carefree. That is to say, indifferent and oblivious to the environment around them and most especially indifferent and oblivious to the presence of other players. In this sense (and again I think it’s the most useful definition to apply to the term), many Eve players may not be particularly belligerent (they’re not picking fights) but they’re far from carefree and therefore not CareBears.

Accordingly, if a player argues for absolutely safe zones:
CareBear

However, if a player embraces that there will always be some risk involved:
Not CareBear

Additional elaboration:
Working to reduce risk is not CareBearing. Rather, it’s centering risk as an important element of game play and undertaking ways to manage it.

Sadly, while I don’t suspect such definitional honing will catch on (flinging fuzzy epithet is such easy fun), I find I can’t refrain. In the end we are what we are, no?

