When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became an adult, I put away childish things. – 1 Corinthians 13:11

Earlier today the hands behind the Dire met up with the two year old granddaughter at the downtown City Creek mall.  For her the day was exciting adventure.  For me the day consisted of 1) making sure she didn’t fall into the water while feeding the fish, 2) making sure she didn’t sneak out of Dinosaur Playland, 3) cleaning up after she spilled my ice water during lunch and 4) guaranteeing we survived dozens of rides up and down various escalators as she enthusiastically repeated, “Again!  Again!”  We both had a very enjoyable day.  She a series thrilling escapades.  Me a chance to delight in the joys of long past youth.

Things do not change; we change. – Henry David Thoreau

Being a person prone to reflection (at least that’s what I tell myself), I was particularly intrigued by the mismatch the granddaughter and I experienced repeatedly riding the escalators.  She’s a climber.  If the floor is good, atop the toy box is better.  If atop the toy box is good, climbing up into the windowsill is better.  If balanced in the windowsill is good shimmying over to conquer the book shelves is better.  Only ‘this is entirely new’ fear and/or ceilings stop the progression.  Accordingly, when at the mall nothing’s finer than *ascending* escalators.  So up we rode, over and over.  Not content with merely preventing the granddaughter from injuring herself, I set about teaching her to enter and exit escalators and took great pleasure watching her skills accumulate.  By ride 18 she truly got the hang of it barely wobbling at the first step on and exiting flawlessly like a long time pro.  All too soon, escalators won’t be exciting in themselves, rather they will simply be convenient point to point conveyances.  And so the granddaughter grows up.  The escalator remains the same but she is changed as another morsel of youthful inexperience fades into the past.

Eve is real – Angry CONCORD Guy?

As I eradicated a bit of the granddaughter’s escalator intrigue by teaching her transitioning skills I couldn’t help but think of Eve Online.  In my long long ago early pilot days, impatiently wrestling with the skill queue was not only intriguing but titillating.  The excitement of dropping into a new, more powerful boat powered my enthusiasm.  These days, not so much.  A few months back I stumbled into owning an Archon, (these things happen if you play Eve long enough) so the queue was updated to fly it.  When EveMon informed me I was Archon capable (I track skills via EveMon), I Interceptored out the following weekend to have a look see.  “Not a bad looking boat,” I thought as I hopped in, “Until I figure out what I want to do with it I might as well strip the modules and sell them.”  So I did.  Archon’s haven’t appreciably changed (I write this pre Citadel) but I sure as hell have.  Once upon a time, Carriers would have been awe inspiring well nigh inconceivable goal, now they’re something one stumbles across.  When Archons become another Ho Hum conveyance, surely the skills to fly the boat are equally Ho Hum.  No wonder CCP recently introduced Skill Extractors.  How else is the skill queue to remain interesting 7 years on?

